The 25th BIFAN Confirms Fantastic Film School Lecturers, Participants, and Schedule

DATE2021.06.08Hit 327

The 25th Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival Confirms
Fantastic Film School Lecturers, Participants, and Schedule

Master class by 'American History X' director, Tony KAYE
100 participants from 17 countries, online classes from July 8-14
 Graduates develop into budding filmmakers 
with impressive accomplishments

▲ Fantastic Film School lecture
The 25th Bucheon International Fantastic Film School (BIFAN, Festival Director: SHIN Chul) has confirmed the lecturers and participants that will be joining this year's Fantastic Film School. The class schedule has also been fixed, and the program will be in session from July 8-14. Classes will be held online, in consideration of the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Fantastic Film School is BIFAN's genre film education program. Taking on the role of dean this year is Hanmac Culture Group CEO Jonathan KIM, who has produced/executive produced more than 30 films, including Piano Man (1996), A Promise (1998), Silmido (2003), To Catch a Virgin Ghost (2004), Monopoly (2006), and Jang-Gae: The Foreigner (2020). Eight film industry professionals - including (in alphabetical order) Todd BROWN, Evrim ESROY, Tony KAYE, KIM Wonkuk, Alexandre O. PHILIPPE, Kerry Deignan ROY, and Michelle SON - will be taking part as lecturers, with always thought-provoking film director Tony KAYE providing the master class. The lecturers will be teaching 100 participants from 17 countries.

Tony KAYE is an iconic filmmaker/artist who has directed titles such as American History X (1998) and Detachment (2011). Producer Todd BROWN has made a name for himself with movies such as Blood Quantum (2019) and The Paper Tigers (2020). Hive Media Corp. CEO KIM Wonkuk has produced/executive produced films such as Inside Men (2015) Gonjiam: Haunted Asylum (2018), The Drug King (2018), The Man Standing Next (2020), and Deliver Us from Evil (2020). Director Alexandre O. PHILIPPE helmed Leap of Faith: William Friedkin on The Exorcist (2019), among other titles. More information about the lecturers can be found in the table below. 

The scale of Fantastic Film School has been greatly increased this year. In addition to the previous limit of 35 enrollees, a total of 65 students have been selected to audit the classes and more film education and networking opportunities will be offered. In consideration of the ongoing pandemic, the program will be making active use of online platforms. The classes will be taught on contact-free platforms, such as Gather and Clubhouse. BIFAN will also be uploading the lectures, which will be targeted for the Fantastic Film School participants, onto its official YouTube channel.

Many Fantastic Film School graduates have developed into budding filmmakers, with several accomplishing great feats last year. 2016 graduate Mattie DO received the Best Co-Production Award at the 2020 International Film Festival & Awards Macao (IFFAM) for her film Entanglement. 2018 graduate Le Quynh AHN was awarded the Artekino International Prize from the 2020 Busan International Film Festival's Asian Project Market for her work as a producer on Who Created Human Beings. 2020 graduate Kinga GORAK's Sweater won an Ale Kino+ award in the form of a license purchase from the 2020 Animarkt Stop Motion Forum. Finally, The Girls are Alright by 2020 graduate Gwai LOU received the Best International Short Film Award from the 2020 AFA (Atlanta Filmmaker's Alliance). 

Fantastic Film School, hosted by BIFAN's Network of Asian Fantastic Films (NAFF), is the world's first genre film education and networking program. The diverse seven-day program has a practical-focused approach, with classes on genre film production, packaging, sales, distribution and more.

The 25th BIFAN will be held from July 8-18. For 11 days, the festival will offer both online and offline screenings, as well as audience events. 
 ■ 2021 NAFF Fantastic Film School Lecturers (Total: 8)
Name Title Filmography
Jonathan KIM 2021 Fantastic Film School, Dean / Hanmac Culture Group, CEO / Producer Producer: Piano Man (1996), A Promise (1998), Silmido (2003), To Catch a Virgin Ghost (2004), Monopoly (2006), Jang-Gae: The Foreigner (2020)
Todd BROWN Producer /, Founder / XYZ Films, Head of International Acquisitions
Producer: Dear Sister (2016), Blood Quantum (2019), Vivarium (2020), The Paper Tigers (2020)
Evrim ERSOY Film Critic / Producer / Programmer
Former Fantastic Fest USA
Creative Director /
BeyondFest, Programmer/ MOTELX, Programmer
Daddy Cross(2011), Tokophobia(2012), Abdullah(2014)
Tony KAYE Film Director Director: American History X (1998), Lake of Fire (2006), Black Water Transit (2009), Detachment (2011)
KIM Wonkuk Hive Media Corp., CEO Producer: Inside Men (2015), Princess Deokhye (2016), Gonjiam: Haunted Asylum (2017), The Drug King (2018), The Man Standing Next (2020), Deliver Us from Evil (2020)
Alexandre O. PHILIPPE Cinema Vertige, Creative Director / Exhibit A Pictures, Creative Director Director: The People vs. George Lucas (2010), The Life and Times of Paul the Psychic Octopus (2012), 78/52 (2017), Leap of Faith: William Friedkin on The Exorcist (2019), Memory: The Origins of Alien (2019)
Kerry Deignan ROY Exhibit A Producer Producer: No Bigger Than A Minute(2006), The People vs. George Lucas(2010), Doc of the Dead(2014), 78/52(2017), Leap of Faith: William Friedkin on the Exorcist(2019), Memory: The Origins of Alien(2019), Tantalus: Behind The Mask(2020)
Michelle SON M-Line Distribution, CEO International Distributor: Anarchist from Colony (2017), The Outlaws (2017), Miss Baek (2018), Fengshui (2018), Baseball Girl (2019), Lucky Chan-sil (2019), Beasts Clawing at Straws (2020), Black Light (2020)
■ 2021 NAFF Fantastic Film School Participants (Total: 35) 
Name Country/Region
Ray Lee Voon LEONG Malaysia
Enkhtulga BATTULGA Mongolia
Richard KUAN USA
Khue VU Vietnam
Zachary YAP Singapore
Saulo AROCA Ecuador
Mor LANKRI Israel
Shyam BORA India
Ernest LESMANA Indonesia
Annisa ADJAM Indonesia
Amy AOYAMA Japan
Jane ZHANG China
Danielle YEN Taiwan
Judie YANG Taiwan
Eloisa PALILEO The Philippines
Herlyn ALEGRE The Philippines
Carla OCAMPO The Philippines
Marvin lyndon carmelo MATIAS The Philippines
Hector CALMA The Philippines
Kim TIMAN The Philippines
KANG Jinu Korea
KIM Kyeongseok Korea
KIM Yesol Korea
NAM Geunhak Korea
DO Yeongchan Korea
MOON Hyesun Korea
BAE Yunkyeong Korea
LEE Yukyeong Korea
JEONG Eunbi Korea
JEONG Jaeik Korea
HONG Yunhui Korea
PARK Miyeong Korea
OH Yubin Korea
Nelson YAN Hong Kong
Wan sze WONG Hong Kong