B.I.G News

B.I.G. NAFF 2018 Fantastic Film School, Announces This Year's Lecturers!


B.I.G. NAFF 2018 Fantastic Film School,
the First-Ever Educational Program for Fantastic Films,
Announces This Year's Lecturers!

Alexandre O. PHILIPPE of 78/52 confirmed along with 4 others
The Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival's(Festival Director: CHOI Yongbae, hereafter BIFAN) 11th Network of Asian Fantastic Films(NAFF) have confirmed the lecturers for NAFF's 2018 Fantastic Film School - the world's first educational program for fantastic films.

NAFF Fantastic Film School is a solid educational program where participants will learn about the rapidly changing film production environment through lectures from five global film industry experts and team pitching sessions. The lecturers for this year include Tom DAVIA, founder and CEO of CINEMAVEN and producer; John HEINSEN, owner and executive director of Bunnygraph Entertainment and previous transmedia producer/showrunner of the Academy Awards; and CHANG Sanling, a prominent producer from Taiwan and expert on marketing, PR, and overseas sales.

This year's program will be headed by Alexandre O. PHILIPPE, the director who took an in-depth look at the iconic shower scene in Alfred HITCHCOCK's Psycho in his documentary 78/52(2017) and opened up new horizons for cinephile documentaries with titles such as The People vs. George Lucas(2010) and The Life and Times of Paul the Psychic Octopus(2012). Annick MAHNERT, who produced 78/52(2017) and Dearest Sister(2016) and is also the acquisitions consultant and festival programmer for Screen Division, will also be providing her expertise for the Fantastic Film School.

The Fantastic Film School will be held for 6 days from July 13 to July 18 at the Koryo Hotel in Bucheon; a total of 28 participants from 19 countries have been selected to take part in the program. Over the 6 days, the participants will take part in a class on script doctoring, a master class, and workshops. They will also participate in lectures that cover a wide range of topics such as transmedia, co-producing packaging, and OTT/SNS marketing. Through the various lectures and programs, the aim is to help create an effective global network that will allow the participants - who are composed of promising filmmakers - to go out into the global film market.

The 22nd Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival will be open for 11 days from July 12 (Thu.) to July 22 (Sun.), with B.I.G being in session for 5 days from July 14 (Sat.) to July 18 (Wed.) in Bucheon.

2018 Fantastic Film School Lecturers (In alphabetical order)
Name Company Career
CHANG Sanling
- Producer
- Expert on marketing, PR, overseas sales
- Mon Mon Mon Monsters(2017), overseas sales
- Holiday Dreaming(2004), producer
Tom DAVIA - Founder and CEO of Cinemaven
- Producer
- Previous vice president of Shoreline Entertainment
- Producer of El Aprendiz(2016), Are We Not Cats(2016), La Granja(2015)
John HEINSEN - Owner & Executive Producer of Bunnygraph Entertainment
- Producer of Return to Le Cateau(in pre-production)
- Previous Transmedia Producer / Showrunner of the Academy Awards
- Acquisitions consultant and festival programmer of Screen Division
- Programmer of Fantastic Fest
- Producer
- Producer of 78/52(2017), Dearest Sister(2016), Guachicolero(in post production)
Alexandre O. PHILIPPE
- Creative Director of Cinema Vertige and Exhibit A Pictures
- Co-owner & co-creator of Fried Comics
- Director of 78/52(2017), The People vs. George Lucas(2010), The Life and Times of Paul the Psychic Octopus(2012)
2018 Fantastic Film School Participants
(In Alphabetical order by nationality)
Name Nationality
Jermaine YUEN Australia
Ce LIANG China
Aurélien LAINE France
Rony Kong Ka YIU Hong Kong
Jackie Ho Chung KEN Hong Kong
Eric Tsang Hing WENG Hong Kong
YEUNG Leung-chuen Hong Kong
Nitesh BHATIA India
Gerry FAIRUS Indonesia
Pourya MORADI Iran
Minji KANG (강민지) Korea(South)
Joohee CHOI (최주희) Korea(South)
Min-a SUNG (성민아) Korea(South)
Mien LOR Malaysia
Adrienne SEET Norway
Raja saad ejaz KHAN Parkistan
Ser En LOW Singapore
Rifyal GIFFARI Singapore
Albert VENTURA Spain
Shiang-an CHUANG Taiwan
Shih Han TSAO Taiwan
Napat TANGSANGA Thailand
Arden rod CONDEZ The Philippines
Dominic LIM The Philippines
Phyllis grae GRANDE The Philippines
JUSTIN Ambrosino USA
Anh LE Vietnam