Bucheon Choice

International competition Bucheon Choice presents films that show innovative, experimental spirit with a unique vision and style. Two feature film awards and two short film awards are selected by international jury, and Audience Awards are determined by audiences’ votes.

Bucheon Choice: Features
  • Best of Bucheon (KRW 20,000,000)
  • Best Director Choice (KRW 5,000,000)
  • Jury’s Choice (KRW 5,000,000)
  • Audience Award
Bucheon Choice: Shorts
  • Best Short Film (KRW 5,000,000)
  • Jury’s Choice for Short Film (KRW 3,000,000
  • Audience Award for Short Film

Korean Fantastic

This Korean competition section was established to support and encourage Korean fantastic genre films. Four feature film awards are chosen by the Korean competition jury, and Best Korean Short Film is selected by an international short film jury. Audience Awards for Korean feature and short film are determined by audiences’ votes.

Korean Fantastic: Features
  • Best Korean Fantastic Film (KRW 20,000,000)
  • Korean Fantastic Best Director (KRW 5,000,000)
  • Fantastic Actors (2 persons)
  • Korean Fantastic Audience Award
Korean Fantastic: Short
  • Best Korean Short Film (KRW 5,000,000)
  • Audience Award for Korean Short Film

Melies International Festivals Federation (MIFF) Award for Best Asian Film

Melies International Festivals Federation (MIFF) Asian Award intends to promote and encourage Asian fantastic genre films. MIFF’s representative jury selects the best Asian fantastic film from the World Fantastic Red section.


NETPAC Jury Committee comprised of NETPAC members and film professionals select the best Asian film from the World Fantastic Blue section, which features newer genres and varied stories of comedy, fantasy and drama.

BIFAN Children’s Jury Award

BIFAN Children Jury Committee consists of 20 children from Bucheon selects the Best film from ‘Family Zone’ section.